Foods that Contain Gluten

Gluten is a protein group found in wheat, rye, barley, and oat flours that form the structure of bread dough. Gluten holds the carbon dioxide produced by the yeast and expands during fermentation, providing the elasticity and stretch in bread dough.

Beverages – Ovaltine, malted milk, ale, beer, whiskey, flavored coffee, herbal tea with malted barley

Milk – malted milk, some commercial chocolate milk, some non-dairy creamers

Meat, fish, poultry – prepared meat containing wheat, rye, oats, barley; tuna canned in vegetable broth

Cheese – any cheese product containing oat gum, some veined cheeses (bleu, Stilton, Roquefort, Gorgonzola)

Potatoes or other starch – regular noodles, spaghetti, macaroni, most packaged rice mixes, semolina, spinach noodles, frozen potato products with wheat flour added

Cereals – all cereals containing wheat, rye, barley, bran, graham, wheat durum, bulghur, millet, triticale, spelt, kamut

Breads – all breads containing wheat, rye, oat, or barley flours and grains listed above

Flours and thickening agents – wheat germ, bran, wheat starch all flours containing wheat, rye, oats, barley, spelt or kamut

Vegetables – creamed vegetables, vegetables canned in sauces, some canned baked beans, commercially prepared vegetables and salads

Fruits – thickened or prepared fruits, some pie fillings, raisins and dried dates that have been dusted with flour

Fats – some commercial salad dressings, wheat germ oil, nondairy creamers, most commercial gravies and sauces

Soups – most canned soups and soup mixes, bouillon and bouillon cubes with hydrolyzed vegetable proteins

Miscellaneous – curry powder, dry seasonings mixes, gravy extracts, meat sauces, ketchup, mustard, horseradish, dips, most soy sauces, some distilled white vinegar, instant dry baking yeast, some cinnamon, condiments made with wheat derived distilled vinegars, communion wafers/bread, some alcohol- based flavoring extracts


  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat (despite its name buckwheat is not a wheat and it is not a grain – it is a seed that originated in Asia. Kasha is roasted/toasted buckwheat)
  • Corn flour, corn meal, corn tortillas
  • Lentil flour
  • Malt free rice and corn breakfast cereals
  • Potato flour
  • Psyllium
  • Quinoa
  • Rice (any kind), rice bran, most rice crackers, rice flour
  • Soya flour, soy based lecithin
  • Tapioca

Download this article as a PDF